Go straight to content
Centre for Sustainable Subsurface Resources (CSSR)

Centre for Sustainable Subsurface Resources (CSSR)

, , Pexels photo 220989, ,

Subsurface research is essential for enabling the energy transition on the Norwegian continental shelf (NCS). At the Centre for Sustainable Subsurface Resources (CSSR), we work to rethink and reimagine how we use the subsurface.

Fifty per cent of the NCS fields are expected to be fully electric by 2030. Eliminating offshore emissions will bring important climate benefits, but the industry will be challenged by this new way of powering operations. At CSSR we work towards understanding how operators best can implement clean energy sources based on each asset’s unique underground situation.

We also explore new ways of using the subsurface to store clean energy. CSSR will help leverage the knowledge and investments connected to old hydrocarbon reservoirs to repurpose these fields for large-scale carbon storage. CSSR researchers are also doing experimental studies on the temporary storage of clean hydrogen in underground reservoirs.

At CSSR we carry out multidisciplinary subsurface research, probing geology, physics, chemistry, and mathematics to find the answers. We will provide new knowledge and harness the power of data to help manage reservoirs and find new ways to use the subsurface in greener, more sustainable ways.

Please contact us if you would like to collaborate with our researchers.


Sarah Eileen Gasda

Research Director Computational Geosciences and Modelling - Bergen

+47 56 10 71 14
+47 905 08 106

Project facts


Centre for Sustainable Subsurface Resources (CSSR)




01.01.22 - 31.12.29



Total budget

166.164.000 NOK

Project website


Research group

Research Topics


Wintershall Dea, Equinor, University of Bergen, Research Council of Norway (RCN), NORCE Norwegian Research Centre AS



Project members

Mayavadee Havre
Casey William Nixon
Raymond Mushabe
Maksim Lysyy
Na Liu
Eirik Keilegavlen
Robert Leslie Gawthorpe
Christian Haug Eide
Kundan Kumar
Jan Ludvig Vinningland
Geir Ersland
Ove Sævareid
Jakub Wiktor Both


Universitetet i Bergen,